exoticmor.blogg.se

Sins of the empire
Sins of the empire









Far-off supernovae bathe your ships in white light, arms of galaxies corkscrew through your field of vision, bubbling red stars hiss and flare and burp like fierce gods with stellar heartburn, often frighteningly close. Even when everything is peaceful and combat is a distant afterthought, there are enough beautiful spacescapes to fill a whole corner shop full of intergalactic post cards. You will note that Rebellion is a very pretty game. 4X refers to the genre’s famous ability to make you say “Ooo” precisely four times – no more, no less. Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion is your bread and butter 4X real-time strategy game set in the cold, dark recesses of the universe. You, fuming at your computer at the lack of spaceship facts, your Jean-Luc Picard figurine lying askew in a pot of yesterday’s hummus. Me, with my lack of knowledge of the previous Sins games, forever unable to write “proper” reviews. I thought, “Hopefully there is enough rebellion to off-set this fact.” Then I played Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion and found out that it is barely a game about rebellion at all, which means it really should have gone to Space and Robots Correspondent, Jim Rossignol. And here's wot i think of Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion. If I roll a one, I have to go through a psychotic breakdown. The character I rolled is so traumatised by life in space that every time there is a “stressful situation” he has to roll to see how he reacts. I thought, “I am in trouble now because I am not good at being in space.” I am currently playing a pen and paper role-playing campaign set in space.

sins of the empire

There is even ‘rebellion’ in the title.” And then I discovered it was a game about SPACE rebellion, which is completely outside of my knowledge because I have not been into space even once. I thought, “This will be easy because it is a game about rebellion. The boys at RPS needed somebody who knew about rebellions for this review, so they called me in because I am Northern Irish and I once shot a gun.











Sins of the empire